Advisors - Ms Getherall and Ms Thifault, Room D129

2021 Yeabook Staff:

Sam Baker, Sarah Delano, Meg Dever, Elias Dreik, Bridget Guiendon, Teresa James,  Kathryn Juliuson, Heidi Nguyen, Joao Oliveria, Bella Shaw 

Yearbook staff attends Journalism Education Association and 

National Scholastic Press Association Convention

Chicago, IL

National Convention

Yearbook adviser Ms. Susan Thifault and English teacher Ms. McMahon along with several of the 2019 staff members; Sabrina Patrizio, Molly Quigley, Jaspreet Badwal, Erin Gabriell, Cindy Yao and Orlagh Skafas  

attended a three day Journalism Education Association and National Scholastic Press Association Convention in Chicago, IL  Thifault stated, “Conventions are a wonderful educational opportunity for students to gain that once in a lifetime chance to meet professionals in their field.  They were able to share ideas with over 6000 high school students from around the country. In fact, this year’s convention was the second largest ever.”  

The agenda consisted of attending workshops offered by professionals who shared their expertise in leadership, design, photography, writing, and marketing.  Each of the staff members attended over 40 unique workshops and shared their ideas at the end of the day.  Advisors, Mrs. Thifault and Mrs. Getherall proposed the idea of attending this convention because of the valuable 21st century skills that the students would learn.  These skills of collaboration, creativity, problem solving and communication can be used for the rest of their lives.     Most importantly, the students had a “real world” opportunity of traveling, staying at a hotel, exploring a new culture and city, attending a conference and meeting new people.  


Several highlights from the conference included attending keynote speaker Pete Souza opening ceremony address. Pete was former White House photographer for Presidents Reagan and Obama. He shared many photos and stories behind the scenes of each photo.  The staff also attend “It’s our story to tell” presentation, where they heard first hand from yearbook advisor Sarah Lerner of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland. FL  Ms. Lerner shared the staff’s experiences of the February 14, 2018 school shooting and how the yearbook had to capture the outcome of the events on the yearbook pages.

Outstanding students

Ms. Thifault and Ms. McMahon commented “Words cannot express how proud we are of the staff.  They were kind, polite, responsible, engaged, motivated and truly appreciative of this opportunity. They made Woburn High and the City of Woburn proud by being model students on this trip. We are so fortunate to be their yearbook advisors.”

Herff Jones Publishing

The staff had a wonderful opportunity to meet with yearbook gurus Ann Akers, educational specialist and Linda Putney from their yearbook publisher, Herff Jones Publishing.  Ann discussed with the staff all the different types of yearbooks from around the country and Linda critiqued Woburn’s pages and gave the staff new ideas.  

About JEA and NSPA:

The Journalism Education Association (JEA) and National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) conventions serve the educational program by providing opportunities beyond those available in the school setting, including these important benefits: • participation in a professional learning community • Break with a Pro sessions with industry professionals • campus recruiters, admissions officers and military representatives at trade show to help students with college and career planning • media tours • opportunities for enrichment and personal/school recognition • teacher training and Certified or Master Journalism Educator certification testing



reviewing notes with the publisher


Woburn High Yearbook Youtube channel -

WMHS 2018 Lip Dub Video